ALLIANCE FOR

WOMEN IN MEDIA WOMEN IN MEDIA

FOUNDATION

2020 **Annual Report**

About AWM

MISSION

The Alliance for Women in Media connects, recognizes, and inspires women across the media industry.

HISTORY

The Alliance for Women in Media was formed in 1951, originally as American Women in Radio and Television, the women's division of the National Association of Broadcasters. In 1960 the AWM (then AWRT) became the first professional broadcasting organization to establish an educational foundation. In 1975 we began an annual award program recognizing the people in the media that represents the changing roles, issues, and concerns of women. In 1997 those awards became The Gracies, named after Gracie Allen, a media pioneer who embodied the character of the awards. To better reflect our commitment to all women in the media, in 2010 the organization renamed itself the Alliance for Women in Media.



2020 at a Glance

PROGRAMS

- 2020 GRACIES GALA HELD VIRTUALLY ON SEPTEMBER 10TH VIA FACEBOOK
- 9 GRACIE INTERVIEW SERIES VIRTUAL GATHERINGS

SPONSORS AND PARTNERS

- ZIPLOC BRAND
- CROWN MEDIA
- CBS CORPORATION
- CNN
- KATZ MEDIA GROUP
- NCTA THE INTERNET & TELEVISION ASSOCATION
- BEASLEY MEDIA GROUP
- COX MEDIA GROUP
- TEGNA

SCHOLARSHIPS

- FORD EMERGING VOICES SCHOLARSHIP: \$4,000 AWARDED IN TOTAL
- FORD EMPOWERING AMERCIA SCHOLARSHIP: \$5,000 AWARDED IN TOTAL
- NCTA/AWM SCHOLARSHIP: \$5,000 AWARDED IN TOTAL
- THE ESPN SCHOLARSHIP: \$7,500 AWARDED IN TOTAL
- GRACIE ENTRY SCHOLARSHIP: 8 FREE ENTRIES WERE AWARDED





Financial Information

AWM REVENUE		AWM EXPENSES	
34%	MEMBERSHIP	71%	ADMINISTRATIVE
30%	PROGRAMS	29%	PROGRAMS
36%	OTHER		

AWM FOUNDATION REVENUE		AWM FOUNDATION EXPENSES	
85%	PROGRAMS	93%	PROGRAMS
10%	OTHER	7%	ADMINISTRATIVE
5%	CONTRIBUTIONS		

Leadership

OFFICERS

- KEISHA SUTTON-JAMES, CHAIR (AWM/F)
- HEATHER COHEN, CHAIR-ELECT (AWM/F)
- CHRISTINE TRAVAGLINI, IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR (AWM/F)
- JOSIE THOMAS, TREASURER (AWM/F)
- ANNIE HOWELL, TREASURER-ELECT (AWM/F)

DIRECTORS

- KATINA ARNOLD (AWM)
- ABBY AUERBACK (AWM)
- JOYCE FITCH (AWM)
- ABBY GREENSFELDER (AWM)
- BRENDA HETRICK (AWM)
- JINNY LADERER (AWM)
- MEG LAVIGNE (AWM)
- DEBORAH PARENTI (AWM/F)
- MICHELLE RAY (AWM)
- SANDRA RICE (AWM)
- ROB STODDARD (AWM/F)
- ESTHER MIREYA TEJEDA (AWM)
- KRISTEN WELCH (AWM/F)
- KATHERINE WOLFGANG (AWM)

KEY STAFF

- BECKY BROOKS, PRESIDENT
- LISA STEPHENSON, EVENTS DIRECTOR
- LATONYA JACKSON, OPERATIONS AND MEMBERSHIP MANAGER
- CATHERINE COMBS, PR AND MARKETING MANAGER