ALLIANCE FOR

FOUNDATION



2021 **Annual Report**

About AWM

MISSION

The Alliance for Women in Media connects, recognizes, and inspires women across the media industry.

HISTORY

The Alliance for Women in Media was formed in 1951, originally as American Women in Radio and Television, the women's division of the National Association of Broadcasters. In 1960 the AWM (then AWRT) became the first professional broadcasting organization to establish an educational foundation. In 1975 we began an annual award program recognizing the people in the media that represents the changing roles, issues, and concerns of women. In 1997 those awards became The Gracies, named after Gracie Allen, a media pioneer who embodied the character of the awards. To better reflect our commitment to all women in the media, in 2010 the organization renamed itself the Alliance for Women in Media.



2021 at a Glance

PROGRAMS

- 2021 Gracie Awards held virtually via Facebook and AWM website
- 4 Gracie Interview Series Virtual Gatherings held via zoom
- AWM Connects mentorship program held via Zoom

SPONSORS AND PARTNERS

- Ziploc Accessory Bags
- Crown Media
- AMC Networks
- Apple Music
- Beasley Media Group
- CNN
- ESPN
- Ford Motor Company Fund
- Fox Sports
- I.E. Network

- Katz Media Group
- Marketplace
- Meruelo Media
- NCTA- The internet & Television Association
- Premiere Networks
- SiriusXM
- TEGNA
- Twin Cities PBS
- WWE

SCHOLARSHIPS

- Ford Emerging Voices Scholarship: \$5,000 awarded in total
- Ford Empowering America Scholarship: \$5,000 awarded in total
- NCTA/AWMF Scholarship: \$5,000 awarded in total
- Loreen Arbus Foundation/AWMF Scholarship: \$2,500 Awarded in total
- The NCTA Gracie Entry Scholarship provided opportunities for underfunded programs to take part in entering the Gracies





Financial Information

AWM REVENUE

AWM EXPENSES

49%

Programs

54%

Administrative

21%

Membership

46%

Programs

30%

Other

AWM FOUNDATION REVENUE

AWM FOUNDATION EXPENSES

85%

Programs

85%

Programs

10%

Other

15%

Administrative

5%

Contributions

Leadership

OFFICERS

- Heather Cohen, Chair (AWM/F)
- Annie Howell, Vice Chair (AWM/F)
- Keisha Sutton-James, Immediate Past Chair (AWM/F)
- Joyce Fitch, Treasurer (AWM/F)
- Brenda Hetrick, Treasurer-Elect (AWM/F)

DIRECTORS

- Katina Arnold (AWM)
- Abby Auerbach (AWM)
- Kenetta Bailey (AWM)
- Marsha Cooke (AWM)
- Svetlana Gans (AWMF)
- Abby Greensfelder (AWM)
- Mike McVay (AWMF)
- Deborah Parenti (AWMF)
- Michelle Ray (AWM)
- Sandra Rice (AWM)
- Esther Mireya Tejeda (AWM)
- Josie Thomas (AWMF)
- Christine Travaglini (AWMF)
- Katherine Wolfgang (AWM)
- Melissa Wright (AWM)

KEY STAFF

- Becky Brooks, President
- Lisa Stephenson, Events Director
- Amy Burton, Awards & Membership Engagement Manager