

FOUNDATION

2022 Annual Report

About AWM

MISSION

The Alliance for Women in Media connects, recognizes, and inspires women across the media industry.

HISTORY

The Alliance for Women in Media was formed in 1951, originally as American Women in Radio and Television, the women's division of the National Association of Broadcasters. In 1960 the AWM (then AWRT) became the first professional broadcasting organization to establish an educational foundation. In 1975 we began an annual award program recognizing the people in the media that represents the changing roles, issues, and concerns of women. In 1997 those awards became The Gracies, named after Gracie Allen, a media pioneer who embodied the character of the awards. To better reflect our commitment to all women in the media, in 2010 the organization renamed itself the Alliance for Women in Media.



2022 at a Glance

PROGRAMS

- 2022 AWM Breakfast at the NAB Show was held April 18 in Las Vegas, NV.
- 2022 Gracie Awards Gala was held May 24 in Beverly Hills, CA
- 2022 Gracie Awards Luncheon was held June 22 in New York.
- 2022 Gracies Leadership Awards was held November 14 in New York.
- 2 Gracie Interview Series held via Zoom.
- AWM Connects mentorship program held via Zoom.

SPONSORS AND PARTNERS

- ABC and ABC News
- Audacy
- AURN-American Urban Radio
 Graham Media Group Networks
- Beasley Media Group
- CBS
- Clear Channel Outdoor
- CMG/CoxReps
- CNN
- Cox Media Group
- Crown Media
- Deborah Parenti
- Disney Media & Entertainment
 Meruelo Media Distribution
- DJV
- Elvis Duran
- ESPN
- Futuri

- Google News Initiative
- Gray Media Group
- Hallmark Media
- Hearst
- iHeartMedia
- Katz Media Group
- Matrix
- Mattel
- Mr. Master
- NBC
- NBCUniversal News Group

- NCTA-The Internet & **Television Association**
- NPR
- Point-To-Point
- Premiere Networks
- Scripps
- Showtime
- Skyview
- Sony Pictures Television
- TEGNA
- Townsquare Media
- Triton
- Valerie Blackburn
- WABC
- National Geographic
 Warner Bros. Discovery
 - WideOrbit
 - Xperi

SCHOLARSHIPS

- One AWMF/NCTA Scholarship awarded \$5,000.
- Two AWMF/ESPN Scholarships were announced for \$10,000 in total.
- The NCTA Gracie Entry Scholarship provided opportunities for underfunded programs to take part in entering the Gracies.



47th Annual Gracie Awards Gala



Gracies Leadership Awards

- - HBO Max

 - Hofstra University

Financial Information

AWM REVENUE		AWM EXPENSES	
84%	Programs	60%	Programs
11%	Membership	40%	Administrative
5%	Other		

AWM FOUNDATION REVENUE		AWM FOUNDAT	AWM FOUNDATION EXPENSES	
95%	Programs	88%	Programs	
4%	Contributions	12%	Administrative	
1%	Other			

Leadership

OFFICERS

- Heather Cohen, Chair (AWM/F)
- Annie Howell, Vice Chair (AWM/F)
- Keisha Sutton-James, Immediate Past Chair (AWM/F)
- Brenda Hetrick, Treasurer (AWM/F)
- Katina Arnold, Treasurer-Elect (AWM/F)

BOARD DIRECTORS

- Catherine Badalamente (AWM)
- Kenetta Bailey (AWM)
- Monica Bloom (AWM)
- Tim Clarke (AWMF)
- Marsha Cooke (AWM)
- Abby Greensfelder (AWM)
- Vicki Lins (AWMF)
- Mike McVay (AWMF)
- Thea Mitchem (AWM)
- Deborah Parenti (AWMF)
- Marie Tedesco (AWM)
- Josie Thomas (AWMF)
- Christine Travaglini (AWMF)
- Katherine Wolfgang (AWM)

KEY STAFF

- Becky Brooks, President
- Amy Burton, Awards & Membership Engagement Manager
- Jenny Ditto, Awards & Public Relations Manager
- LaTonya Jackson, Awards & Project Manager
- Lisa Stephenson, Events Director