Becky Brooks

November, 2017


Alliance for Women in Media Foundation Announces 43rd Gracie Awards Call for Entries

November 2, 2017 (New York City/Los Angeles) – The Gracie Awards, presented by the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF), has opened the call for entries for the 43rd Annual Gracie Awards Gala, May 22, 2018, at the Beverly Wilshire, Beverly Hills, A Four Seasons Hotel, and Gracie Awards Luncheon, June 27, 2018, in New York City at Cipriani 42nd Street.

“Each year, the Gracie Awards turns the spotlight on the best and brightest in all segments of the media industry, on and off the screen. The scope of the event—recognizing groundbreakers in radio, television and interactive media—truly reflects the spirit of Gracie Allen, a media pioneer and the namesake of the Gracie Awards,” says Sarah Foss, AWMF board chair. “The AWM has celebrated exceptional individuals for over 40 years. The Gracies honor those creating innovative content, highlighting diversity, and exhibiting integrity in journalistic approach. We look forward to recognizing more worthy contributors for their outstanding achievements.”

Serving again as co-chairs for the 2018 Gracie Awards are Alliance for Women in Media Foundation board members Karla Ballard Williams, Heather Cohen and Annie Howell. Vicangelo Bulluck, a seasoned veteran in awards production as well as the Executive Producer of the 2016 Democratic National Convention, has produced the Gracie Awards since 2016 and will return to produce the Gracie Awards Gala in 2018.

A highlight of the 2017 Gracie Awards was honoring Ms. Debbie Allen with the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by her “television son” actor Jesse Williams and Allen’s daughter, Vivian Nixon. Award recipients in 2017 also included “This is Us” with cast members Mandy Moore, Chrissy Metz, and Susan Kelechi-Watson accepting, as well as Rachel Bloom, Natalie Morales, Lisa Ling, Garrett Clayton, Denise Contis and Lynn Whitfield. Presenters and additional guests included Wendi McLendon-Covey, Laura Ling, Leigh-Allyn Baker, Nischelle Turner, Debbie Matenopoulos and more.

The 2018 Gracie Awards entry eligibility air dates are from January 1, 2017, through December 31, 2017. Early Bird rates for entries end on December 14, 2017, at 11:59 PM Eastern. The deadline for all entries is January 18, 2018, at 11:59 PM Eastern. Entry details including pricing, updated categories can be viewed at Gracies Call for Entries.

To see more about the 2017 Gracie Awards, including the media release and past video, visit Gracies Coverage.