Becky Brooks

June, 2018


Alliance for Women in Media Foundation Announces Judy Woodruff as Lifetime Achievement Honoree for 43rd Annual Gracies Luncheon


CNN’s Erica Hill to Host and Country Artist Jessie Chris to Perform
at June 27 Event at Cipriani 42nd Street

June 5, 2018 (New York City) – The leadership of the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF) announces that Judy Woodruff, anchor and managing editor of “PBS NewsHour,” will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 43rd Annual Gracie Awards Luncheon. Hosting the luncheon will be another television news veteran, Erica Hill of CNN. The annual Gracies Luncheon honors individual achievement and outstanding programming at the local level for TV and radio, public level for radio and student level for TV, radio and interactive media. It will take place June 27 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.

The Gracie Awards recognize individual achievement and outstanding programming created by, for and about women in all facets of media and entertainment. Given this year to Woodruff, who has covered politics and other news for more than four decades, the Gracies Lifetime Achievement Award honors a woman in media who exemplifies and embodies the essence of the iconic trailblazer, the late Gracie Allen, the namesake of The Gracie Awards.

“The Gracie Awards celebrate the female storytellers who are changing the narrative and pushing boundaries in the quest toward diversity and equality,” said AWMF Chair Christine Travaglini, President, Katz Radio Group. “Since the beginning of her journalism career in 1976, Judy Woodruff’s connected, well-researched approach is consistently present and illustrates why she is so worthy of this

Lifetime Achievement Award. We at AWM and AWMF, through the Gracies, are incredibly proud to honor and celebrate outstanding talent and content for, by and about women.”

Woodruff’s award-winning career includes roles at CNN, NBC, and PBS:

•  For 12 years, she served as anchor and senior correspondent for CNN.

•  At PBS from 1983-1993, Woodruff was the chief Washington correspondent for The MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour. From 1984-1990, she also anchored PBS’ documentary series, “Frontline with Judy Woodruff.”

•  At NBC News, Woodruff was White House correspondent for several years and served one year as Chief Washington Correspondent for “TODAY.”

•  She also anchored a monthly program for Bloomberg Television, “Conversations with Judy Woodruff.”

Among the many awards, Woodruff has received the Edward R. Murrow Lifetime Achievement Award in Broadcast Journalism/Television. She also authored the book, “This is Judy Woodruff at the White House,” published in 1982. Woodruff is a founding co-chair of the International Women’s Media Foundation, an organization dedicated to promoting and encouraging women in communication industries worldwide.

“I am thrilled to receive a Gracie from the Alliance for Women in Media, a truly pioneering organization in promoting women across the spectrum of media careers,” says Woodruff. “Since its start as AWRT, it has been dedicated to creating opportunities for women and, thankfully, we see the results all around us.”

Gracies Luncheon host Erica Hill is a TV anchor and award-winning journalist. She serves as an anchor and correspondent for CNN. Most recently, Hill anchored CNN’s Headline News, “On the Story with Erica Hill.” She was previously a co-anchor of NBC’s weekend edition of “TODAY,” and served as an anchor and correspondent for NBC News. Before joining NBC, Hill was an anchor and correspondent at CBS News.

In 2015, AWMF honored Hill with the Gracie Award for Outstanding Correspondent. “It’s an honor to host the Gracies, and to be among the most inspiring, empowering and talented women in our business,” said Hill. “I am thrilled that we will recognize the incomparable Judy Woodruff. She’s an icon, and someone I have always looked up to not only as a journalist but as a human being.”

Performing will be 2018 Billboard Artist-to-Watch Jessie Chris. Chris was the first country artist to be named “TODAY” Show Artist of The Month, and she was the youngest performer at the 2015 CMA Festival, an event she has also performed at in 2017 and 2018. Chris, the victim of extreme bullying as a student, is an anti-bullying advocate who has supported the Ad Council’s #BeMore Campaign and Disney’s #ChooseKindness campaign. This year, she will visit 100 schools across the country to speak with students about bullying and recently formed a partnership to share songs, inspirational quotes and vlogs directly with children and families through the Mazu app. Chris authored a children’s book on the subject, which will be released this summer.

The National Gracie Award honorees were recognized at the Gracies Gala, May 22, at The Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills. A full list of recipients may be found on the Alliance for Women in Media website. For more information about the 2018 Gracies Luncheon or to secure tickets, please visit here.

About the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation and The Gracie Awards
The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (formerly known as The Foundation of American Women in Radio & Television) supports and promotes educational programs, and scholarships to benefit the media, the public, and allied fields. The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation has created partnerships and joint initiatives with the Emma Bowen Foundation, NCTA, NAB and other organizations that are philosophically aligned with the mission of the Foundation. In addition to giving $20,000 a year in scholarships to deserving female students, the Foundation also produces nationally acclaimed recognition programs, including the Gracie Awards that exemplary honor programming created by, for and about women.

For more information about The Alliance for Women in Media, please visit: and follow on Twitter, Instagram (@AllWomeninMedia) (#TheGracies), and Facebook. Sponsors of The Gracies include Ford Motor Company, Crown Media Group, CNN, CBS Corporation, Discovery, Inc., FOX Sports, NCTA – The Internet and Television Association, Premiere Networks, SiriusXM, Katz Media Group, Beasley Media Group and Entercom.