February, 2022

Press Release

The Alliance for Women in Media and its Foundation Announce the 2022 Board of Directors & Officers

February 16, 2022 (New York City/Los Angeles) – The Alliance for Women in Media and its Foundation (AWM/F) are pleased to announce the 2022 National Board of Directors and Officers. New to the Alliance for Women in Media (AWM) Board are: Catherine Badalamente, Vice President & Chief Innovation Officer (Incoming CEO), Graham Media Group; Monica Bloom, VP of Marketing, First Look Media; Thea Mitchem, Executive Vice President of Programming, iHeart Media; Marie Tedesco, Chief Financial Officer, Beasley Media Group. New to the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF) Board are: Tim Clarke, Senior Vice President, Digital Audio Content, Audacyand Vicki Lins, President and CEO, CTAM.

Officers of the board have been announced as Heather Cohen, Executive Vice President, The Weiss Agency, serving as chair; Annie Howell, Chief Communications Officer, Crown Media Family Networks (Hallmark), serving as incoming chair; Keisha Sutton-James, CEO & Founder, Sutton Button Productions LLC, serving as immediate past chair; Brenda Hetrick, Chief Revenue Officer, Matrix Solutions, serving as treasurer, and Katina Arnold, Vice President, Corporate Communications, ESPN, serving as incoming treasurer. 

“The role of the AWM and Foundation boards is to lead our organizations and industry as we recognize, connect and educate women in all facets of media.” stated Becky Brooks, president, AWM/F.  “The past two years have proven that leadership of an organization is critical to navigate through uncertain times. It is as important as it’s ever been to have insightful, diverse leadership. This year’s directors are dedicated to donating time and resources to guide us to the next level.  We are thrilled to have these talented, accomplished women and men guiding our strategic initiatives.”

The following leaders will continue to serve as Directors at Large of AWM: Marsha Cooke, Vice President & Executive Producer, ESPN Films and 30 for 30; Abby Greensfelder, Founder & CEO, Everywoman Studios; and, Katherine Wolfgang, Head of Public Relations, CBC. Svetlana Gans, Vice President and Associate General Counsel at NCTA – The Internet & Television Association (NCTA); Mike McVay, President, McVay Media; Deborah Parenti, Publisher, RadioInk, RBR and TVBR; Josie Thomas, former (retired) Executive Vice President and Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer, CBS and Christine Travaglini, President, Katz Radio Group; will continue to serve as a Director at Large of AWMF.

AWMF is also pleased to announce Heather Cohen, Annie Howell and Mike McVay will continue to serve as chairs for the Gracie Awards. Learn more about the Gracie Awards, presented by the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation, at

Board photos and bios can be found on the AWM website. Here for the AWM board of directors and here for the AWM Foundation board of directors.

Connect with AWM through our @AllWomenInMedia handle on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn and sign up for the FastForward Newsletter for the latest updates and career center opportunities.


About the Alliance for Women in Media (AWM): The Alliance for Women in Media connects, recognizes and inspires women across the media industry. AWM is a diverse community – whether type of media, job or global location – that facilitates industry-wide collaboration, education, and innovation. Established in 1951 as American Women in Radio & Television (AWRT), AWM is the longest-established professional association dedicated to advancing women in media and entertainment. AWM harnesses the promise, passion and power of women in all forms of media to empower career development, engage in thought leadership, and drive positive change for our industry and societal progress.

About the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF): In 1960, the Alliance for Women in Media became the first professional broadcasting organization to establish an educational foundation. The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (formerly known as The Foundation of American Women in Radio & Television) supports and promotes educational programs, charitable activities, public service campaigns and scholarships to benefit the public, the electronic media and allied fields. The Foundation also produces nationally acclaimed recognition programs, including the Gracie Awards®, honoring exemplary programming created by, for or about women and individual achievement. The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit, educational organization. For the latest news on the Gracies, follow The Gracies on Twitter and Facebook. For more information about the Gracie Awards and to submit your entries, please visit

Media Contact:

Becky Brooks